GCSE Grades - The NEW Levels

Changes to GCSE Grades - The NEW Levels

The Department for Education is changing the grading for GCSE's and this will affect the entry requirements for many of our courses. This year the change will only relate to Maths and English GCSE grades.

New GCSEs will be graded 9-1, rather than A*-G, with grade 5 considered a good pass and grade 9 being the highest and set above the current A*. The new system is intended to help provide more differentiation, especially among higher achieving students.

Please see diagram below, that maps the A*-G system alongside the new grading structure.


A current GCSE Grade C or above = New Level 4 or above

A current GCSE Grade D or above = New Level 3 or above

Course Enquiries

Call 01245 265611

Follow us